top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrittany Carter

Not my first rodeo!

Updated: May 21, 2019

I think in the back of my mind, I've always wanted to write. When I was younger, I wrote in a diary every day, and when I was in third grade, I asked for a typewriter for Christmas and I loved it. However, because I was so active in gymnastic, cheer and softball, I didn't have a lot of spare time out of school to read or write. When college came, I decided to focus on my studies instead of trying out for cheer. This is when my love for reading and writing slapped me in the face. I went down the nursing road for my first year, and realized I couldn't have cared less about biology or science, but I flourished in my English classes, and I soon became enamored with reading and then writing.


Then the traditional publishing journey started, and ended with me interning with a literary agency with no published book. Then I published a couple of YA paranormal books with a small publisher. They didn't sale a lot, but I had positive feedback.


So, then, Amazon self-publishing came about and I published The Forever Series. I was very lucky and they did AMAZING. I paid my car loan off, and numerous other things, and then Swoon Romance picked them up and two more of my series.


By that time I was married, and when I got pregnant with my son Maddox, it became harder and harder for me to met my deadlines for Swoon. Untimely I didn't have the time to promote and keep a steady flow of books coming, so I was let go from my contract, which I understood because I could feel myself slowly slipping away.


As babies do, they grow, and now I have a three year old which is easier time-wise to handle than an infant. My husband is amazing with giving me time to write so I can keep up with my deadlines.


That's when I wrote LEAD THE WAY and decided to pitch it to Georgia McBride again. Now, here I am, I've got a book published, I've signed my second contemporary romance TAKE YOUR TIME, and I'm working on my third. Everything happens for a reason, and I would NEVER change anything about my journey.


I did a little adding on how many books I've written and I'm working on my eighteenth book right now. I've written 18 entire books, and I'm SO proud of myself. It does suck that I started over with my name instead of a pen name, however, I feel my writing has improved so much since those other books that I wanted to start fresh, and write using the experiences I've gained as a 29 year old woman.


I don't do regrets anymore, I threw them out of my life when I got old enough to realize I didn't care what other people thought about me. I'm proud of what I've done in my life and the things I've reached for, and even though I've stumbled, I'm proud to say I tried, and will keep trying. I love my job selling insurance, I love my life being a wife and mom, and I most certainly love my life writing romance!!!







45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page